Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: Is There a Limit?

Is There a Limit? 5 years 2 months ago #28577

I'm relatively new here - this is only my second post and I'm also relatively new to Flight Sim (I only purchased FS 2004 about a month ago and I still can't get the landings right yet!) so I apologise if this question has been asked before. Being me, if I see an aeroplane that I fancy flying - I download it. I've got a fair few now. So far the only downside of having so many is that it slows down the loading of the programme.

I was wondering if there was limit as to how many aeroplanes you could install in the programme?
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Re:Is There a Limit? 5 years 2 months ago #28579

• LeifH
  • Just an old shepherd
The only limit is the physical amount of memory your computer has. However the more aircraft and scenery you add the slower the program runs.

Leif
<<In the early morning rain, with a dollar in my hand>>

Re:Is There a Limit? 5 years 2 months ago #28586

• Miggers
  • Thank you received: 1
Ask me how many kites I have in mine Don :lol: (answer:about 380)

I've been flying for around four years now,and I can't get landings right either.

Mine tend to be "aircraft carrier" style,unless it's a piston fighter I'm in.

Mark
CBF Alpha/Beta Test Pilot

CBF Chief Fighter Pilot

IL2 Messerschmitt 109 ace

Holder of the Knight's Cross with Oak Leaves,Swords and Diamonds.

Re:Is There a Limit? 5 years 2 months ago #28587

• dhasdell
  • Thank you received: 1
Unlike CFS2 there is no limit on numbers, but as you have spotted the more you have the longer it takes to load. A way round this might be Martin Wright's AcMan, which lets you store rarely used types in a separate folder. I haven't tried it in FS9 myself, and a possible drawback would be if you aliased something to a type which you then moved to the hangar folder.

David H.
Rats! Why won't anything work properly first time?